OCC Announces ACES Competition Winners

Feb 13, 2024

Students from 11 area high schools participated in the 2024 Academic Challenge for Engineering and Science Competition at Olney Central College. The state-wide event is sponsored by Eastern Illinois University.

Division 300 schools competing this year were: Clay City, Edwards County, Hutsonville, Lawrenceville, Oblong and Palestine.

Division 700 schools were: Fairfield Community, Flora, Newton Community and Robinson.

Richland County competed in Division 1,500.

Division 300 first-place winner was Edwards County. Lawrenceville placed second and Oblong finished third.

Robinson won in Division 700, Newton Community finished second and Flora placed third. Richland County finished first in Division 1,500.

The first- and second-place teams in each division will advance to the next level.

Individual awards were also presented in each division. The award categories were Biology, Chemistry, Computational Science, Engineering Graphics, English, Math and Physics.

The individual winners were:

Division 300

Biology — First, Drew Wolfe of Edwards County; Second, William York of Lawrenceville; and Tied for third, Rylan Legg of Oblong, Zori Ewing of Edwards County and Francesca Comandini of Hustonville

Chemistry — First, Dalton Burns of Lawrenceville; Second, Hope Senger of Lawrenceville and Third, Jake Hendricks of Lawrenceville

Computational Science — Tied for first, Zoey Rinesmith of Palestine and Rhys Barnes of Edwards County; Tied for second, Emma Newlin of Hutsonville, Holden Sipes of Palestine and Jaden Schwarzlose and Drew Wolfe both of Edwards County; and Tied for third, Alayna Snider and Logann Baker both of Oblong, Grayson Pinkston of Hutsonville and Andersen Snyder of Clay City

Engineering Graphics — First, Cameron Davis of Oblong; Tied for second, Sara Egana of Hutsonville and Lindsey Luker of Edwards County; and Tied for third, Parker Ammon of Lawrenceville and Rhys Barnes of Edwards County

English — First, Alice Robb of Edwards County; Second, Zori Ewing of Edwards County; and Third, Conor Lill of Lawrenceville

Mathematics — Tied for first, Ava Manuel and Ethan Dhom both of Oblong; Second, Will Wilson of Oblong; and Third, Rowan Bailey of Oblong

Physics — First, Marianna Coppola of Edwards County; Tied for second, Jake Hendricks of Lawrenceville and Cameron Davis of Oblong; and Tied for third, Rylee Dohoney of Lawrenceville, Ethan Dhom of Oblong, Rylyn Nix of Edwards County and Jack Hawkins and Natalie Yargus both of Palestine

Division 700

Biology — First, Alexander Calvert of Robinson; Second, Noah Gilmore of Robinson; and Third, Logan Atwood of Flora

Chemistry — First, Ian Gilmore of Robinson; Second, Wesley Britton of Newton; and Tied for third, Madyson Slover and Adam Pietz both of Flora and Lauren Staller of Robinson

Computational Science — First, Alexander Calvert of Robinson; Second, Martin Biery of Robinson; and Third, Jack Gacek of Fairfield

Engineering Graphics — First, Ella Tingley of Robinson; Second, Lauren Staller of Robinson; and Third, Emery Oesch of Flora

English — First, Sydney Harmon of Robinson; Second, Victoria McMillan of Robinson; and Tied for third, Madeline Foster of Fairfield and Charlotte Schackmann of Newton

Mathematics — First, Brynn Forman of Robinson; Second, Noah Gilmore of Robinson; and Tied for third, Katelin Moskopf of Flora and Aaron Hatfield of Robinson

Physics — Tied for first, Ian Bower and Luke Weber both of Newton; Tied for second, Lindsey Hevron and Brynn Forman both of Robinson; and Third, Katelin Moskopf of Flora

Division 1,500

Biology — First, Colby Redman; Second, Trenton Meadows; and Third, Addison Ridgely

Chemistry — First, Trenton Meadows; and Second, Isaac Zwilling

Computational Science — First, Grayce Burgener

Engineering Graphics — First, Carson Bissey; and Second, Sean Joyce

English — First, Evelyn Potter; Second, Addison Ridgley; and Third, Brayden Beard

Mathematics — First, Yeongrye Ju; Tied for second, Brayden Beard, Claire Vaal and Colby Redman; and Third, Isaac Zwilling

Physics — First, Yeongrye Ju; Tied for second, Palo Davi and McKenna Snider; and Third, Carson Bissey

The first-, second- and third-place finishers received medallions presented by OCC Physics Professor Rob Mason. Illinois Eastern Community Colleges awarded tuition waivers to graduating seniors who placed first in their exam category.

The first- and second-place winners advance to the next level of competition as individuals if their team isn’t advancing.