GENERAL INFORMATION

INTRODUCTION

Illinois Eastern Community College District 529 (IECC) is one of thirty-nine tax-supported community college districts in the state recognized by the Illinois Community College Board and Illinois Board of Higher Education. The IECC campuses, which include Frontier Community College (Fairfield), Lincoln Trail College (Robinson), Olney Central College (Olney), and Wabash Valley College (Mt. Carmel), have received state and national recognition for educational excellence. Coupled with low tuition rates, IECC is the obvious choice for a quality education at an affordable price.

In today's economy, a post-secondary education is key in achieving career objectives. IECC can aid in attaining your professional or personal goals with the following offerings:

- ♦ Transfer Programs
- ♦ Career and Technical Programs
- Business & Industry
- ♦ Adult Education/GED
- ♦ Non-credit Community Education

For convenience, many classes are available online and in a hybrid format.

It's not all work and no play. The campuses are home to top-ranking sports teams, outstanding theatrical performances, recreational facilities, and more.

We want to improve lives through education and the many services we provide. If that's something we can help you with, please contact one of our four campuses for assistance.

OUR HISTORY

Wabash Valley College was founded in 1960 by the Community Unit School District #348 in Mt. Carmel. In 1963 Olney Central College was founded by the East Richland School District #1. In February 1969, Wabash Valley College joined the Olney Central College Community College District with Lincoln Trail joining in June 1969 to create a three-college district.

In October 1969, a \$5.9 million bond issue to finance the local share of funds needed for the construction of a permanent campus at each of the three colleges was approved. In December 1976, the Illinois Eastern College of Continuing Education was established in Fairfield, becoming the fourth college in District 529. The name was changed to Frontier Community College in April 1978.

THE REGION

The District spans 3,000 square miles in southeastern Illinois, has a total population of approximately 111,000

and includes all or portions of 12 counties. Bordered on the east by the Wabash River, the expanse is positioned in a scenic region of the state with farmland, wooded acreage, golf courses, and recreational lakes scattered throughout. Each campus is located in a small-town setting with convenient access to larger cities in Illinois and Indiana.

Employment opportunities are available in the immediate and surrounding area from a diversified base of agriculture, healthcare, mining, manufacturing, processing, distribution, and the oil industry, to name just a few. Local healthcare facilities are major employers and, through affiliation agreements, serve as partners in education for many of our programs.

GOVERNANCE

The Illinois Community College System is coordinated by the Illinois Community College Board (ICCB) who administer the Public Community College Act of 1965. Included in the Act is the establishment of a Board of Trustees in each college district. IECC is governed by a seven-member board elected at large by residents of the District to serve a six-year term. A non-voting student trustee is elected by a student referendum to serve a one-year term from April to March.

The chancellor, accountable to the Board, is located in the District Office at 233 East Chestnut Street in Olney, Illinois. A president serves as chief administrator at each campus and also holds a vice-chancellor role, overseeing one of five districtwide shared service divisions. A fifth vice-chancellor serves as the Vice-Chancellor of Academic Affairs.

All are charged with ensuring the Mission, Vision, and Values of the District are a consideration during decision-making.

ACCREDITATION

Institutional Accreditation

IECC is accredited by The Higher Learning Commission, an institutional accreditation agency recognized by the U.S. Department of Education. The Commission may be contacted via the HLC website at www.hlcommission.org or by phone at 312-263-0456.

Program Accreditations & Approvals

The Associate Degree in Nursing program at Illinois Eastern Community Colleges at the Frontier Community College, Lincoln Trail Community College, Olney Central College, and Wabash Valley College campuses and located in Fairfield, Robinson, Olney, and Mt. Carmel, Illinois are accredited by the: Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing (ACEN), 3390 Peachtree Road NE, Suite 1400, Atlanta, GA 30326. The program's current