Content edited and saved!

Nursing Students Presented with Academic Scholarships

Several students enrolled in FCC's Nursing Program (through OCC) were awarded financial scholarships for the Spring 2018 semester.  Scholarships presented include the Clemence Elizabeth Cox Scholarship and the Vicky Lemons Memorial Scholarship.

Clemence Elizabeth Cox Scholarship

Pictured, from left to right:  Nursing Advisor Julie Bullard, student Kristen Jones, donor Jerry Cox, student Angela Sutton, and Assistant Nursing Professor Wanda Doulas.

 Frontier Community College (FCC) recently awarded the Clemence Elizabeth Cox Scholarship to two nursing students.  The semi-annual scholarship awards $500 to two second-level nursing students of FCC.  The semi-annual Clemence Elizabeth Cox Scholarship has been awarded to Kristen Jones of Clay City and Angela Sutton of Fairfield.  Both Jones and Sutton will complete the Associate Degree in Nursing in May 2018.


Clemence Elizabeth Cox was well known in the Fairfield community.  She and her husband James (Jim) Cox operated the Western Auto store in Fairfield for many years and were the builders and first operators of the Uptown Motel.  At one time she also ran a retail baby shop. 

Mrs. Cox was a member of the Fairfield First Christian Church and involved with numerous clubs including Younger Women’s Club, Fairfield Women’s Club, Fairfield Beautification Committee, Fairfield Garden Club, and the Fairfield Memorial Hospital Auxiliary.  She was a 1933 graduate of Fairfield Community High School.

This memorial scholarship has been established by Jerry Cox of Mill Shoals, the son of John and Clemence Cox.  Jerry is a retired salesman for Airtex Products, a Southern Illinois University graduate, and a Vietnam veteran.

Grateful for the care that both his parents received in the hospital and nursing home, and knowing the care nurses give to the VA patients, Jerry thought it only fitting to award the scholarship to nursing students.

Vicky Lemons Memorial Scholarship

Pictured, from left to right, front:  students Sabria Phillips, Luke Townsend, and Elizabeth Fortier.  Back: Jan Wiles, Assistant Dean of Student Services; and Wanda Douglas, Assistant Professor of Nursing.

Frontier Community College (FCC) recently awarded the Vicky Lemons Memorial Scholarship for the Spring 2018 semester.  The $500 scholarships are awarded semi-annually to nursing students of FCC.  The three scholarship recipients include Elizabeth Fortier of Crossville, Sabria Phillips of Fairfield, and Luke Townsend of Fairfield.

Vicky Lemons was well-known and loved at FCC and in the community.  Serving as a member of FCC’s nursing faculty from 2006 until her passing in March 2015, Vicky played an important part not only in the education of her students, but also in their everyday lives.  A lifetime learner, Vicky was working towards a Master’s in Nursing at the time of her passing, and she was awarded the degree posthumously in May 2015.

The Vicky Lemons Memorial Scholarship was established by Vicky’s family and friends in an effort to give back to the students she loved helping so much.  Even in passing, Vicky continues to help students achieve their nursing goals through this scholarship award.

Find a problem? Send the issue to us. Thank you!